top of page

December Symposium

December 9, 2022


Preparation Time

The preparation time that I have for the Symposium is drawing to a close as I find my materials and read the literature reviews that I have collected in the past few weeks. Although I have minimal depth within my literature review writing, I plan to use the outline for my presentation as a structure to strengthen my writing within the literature review. The process of formulating topics for the review paper have been the basis of my research. Focus within the factors associated with the desire to cease non-suicidal self-injury with the specifics to my study, I look into the therapies for decreasing desire of behaviors. The structure I plan to follow for the symposium consists of 7-10 slides with an introduction to what I'm doing for research and why, my research question, a methods section of what a literature review is and why I'm doing it. Within my presentation I plan to talk about the literature that I have and the various categories including Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, Dialectical Behavior Therapy, Strengths-Based Therapy, and Emotion Regulation Therapy. I also plan to talk more about what is done and what is to come in my research process. The conclusion will include implications and next steps which might also include discussing my work and comparisons to other works on campus or other research projects of relativity. Depending on the information, I may also discuss the work of the Diversity Grant proposal.


Post Symposium


I begin to focus on the development of the literature review in preparation for the ASTRA journal for the following semester. I plan to collaborate with Dr. Jennifer Muehlenkamp during the winter month off of school to complete this task. I also plan to complete my graduate school applications and finalized my school spreadsheet. I've chosen the following schools to apply to for the fall of 2023. The University of Minnesota - Twin Cities, University of Wisconsin - Stout, University of Wisconsin - Madison, University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee, Marquette University, Northwestern University, Boston University, and the University of Texas - Austin are all choices and options. Moving forward I plan on the development of a literature review paper to submit for the ASTRA journal as well as graduate school applications hold a great focus for the upcoming months.



IMG_7496_edited.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

My to learn more about Mary Obias continue to read here...

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page