top of page

Wrapping Up The Summer

August 24, 2022


Research Update

During the months of June-August I had the opportunity to collaborate with Professor Jennifer Muehlenkamp to work on the development of the diversity grant as an additional stipend pay to support the research process of the comprehensive literature review paper. It's throughout the month of August I developed writing skills and research of literature papers that I also begun the process of formulating topics for the review paper. Several topic ideas include the factors associated with the desire to cease non-suicidal self-injury. Examples such as cognitive emotions factors (i.e., psychological distress, self-efficacy to resist, difficulties regulating emotion, interpersonal functions, outcome expectancies) and elevated psychological distress. Subtopics within difficulties regulating emotion include emotion regulation (i.e., nonacceptance of emotions, difficulties managing impulsive behavior, limited awareness of emotion, difficulty assessing regulation strategies, difficulties clarifying emotional experiences).


Clinical Experience

Developing a strong clinical experience and build up by CV has been especially rewarding and productive during the summer session. I started a position with Ignite Child Development Services as a Behavior Treatment Therapist. I get the opportunity to work with children with Autism Spectrum Disorder, work closely with Licensed Professionals (BCBAs, LMFTs, OTs, etc.). I gain skills to provide one-on-one behavior therapy with the goal to use behavior therapy to teach clients new skills, decrease challenging behaviors, and improve their every day interactions. I have development opportunities which include Sensory Integration Therapy, Applied Neuroscience interventions, Trauma-informed ABA, Art Therapy interventions, Conscious Discipline strategies, and Early Childhood play plans. This is an rewarding opportunity for me as I get to work with different fields as well as work with children one on one and apply the training that I was given to help children with their well being as well as family dynamics.


Moving Forward

I look towards the future in hopes to develop the comprehensive literature review during the fall semester in preparation for the McNair Symposium on December 7th by planning weekly what I need to do to be ready to present. Another important target I need to reach is to be ready to apply for graduate schools by the application deadlines. I plan to use a similar format that I used for the summer research calendar to create a weekly system. I plan to review this calendar with my mentor Jennifer Muehlenkamp alongside review with Dr. Wonder in hopes to set a strong structure and direction to finish the research project in a timely manner. It's through this process that I can make a strong decision with the direction I want to take with McNair moving forward.







IMG_7496_edited.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

My to learn more about Mary Obias continue to read here...

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page