top of page

Summer Research Institute

May 22, 2022


Wrapping It Up/Getting Started

As I wrap up my third year at The University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire, I have focused on taking into consideration my plans for summer. As I begin to utilize my skills to conduct research on the factors that facilitate self-recovery within young adults of NSSI (non-suicidal self-injury). To kick off the fourth year as a research student I'm getting started with the process of what the summer research institute will hold and the goals in which I hope to reach this summer. Alongside developing my comprehensive literature review I am tasked with other expectations to complete monthly which include posting a blog/vlog, creating a monthly research calendar of goals with completion dates, and a monthly report on the research and work conducted from the past month.


Building My Experiences


Alongside my summer research work I began my search for opportunities to build my resume and CV. Several internships and volunteer opportunities I have looked into include interning with the Bolton Refuge House, Inc. which offers internships to gain knowledge of the non-profit domestic violence/sexual assault services field. Within this internship I learn about the different aspects of direct services to clients who have been affected by domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and/or stalking. As a potential intern I have the opportunity to work closely with victim advocates on staff and work directly with clients to assess needs, make referrals, and provide support. I look forward to potentially interning with them in the upcoming fall.


Other experiences I was able to obtain include a position with Playpen Sports Academy as a Toddler Sports Coach. I get the opportunity to work with younger children ages 2-5. I have the opportunity to facilitate a fun, structured environment for toddlers to learn how to use their bodies and how to work with others. I get to combine my love for sports and children to develop social, emotional, and motor development opportunities through fun games around sports. I found this opportunity special to me as it combines a personal hobby interest of sports and allows me to work with children on development.


My last opportunity I'm a part of is a position with Ignite Child Development Services as a Behavior Technician. I get the opportunity to work with children with Autism Spectrum Disorder, work closely with Licensed Professionals (BCBAs, LMFTs, OTs, etc.). I have the opportunity to provide one-on-one behavior therapy with the goal to use behavior therapy to teach clients new skills, decrease challenging behaviors, and improve their every day interactions. I have development opportunities which include Sensory Integration Therapy, Applied Neuroscience interventions, Trauma-informed ABA, Art Therapy interventions, Conscious Discipline strategies, Early Childhood play plans.


Summer Research


Working with Dr. Muehlenkamp has given me the opportunity to explore research through the exploratory lens of focusing on a comprehensive literature review that emphasizes the intellectual synthesis of the topic on self-recovery within young adults of NSSI (non-suicidal self-injury). I have developed goals in completing work to submit for the diversity grant, and generate my paper outline to help structure the literature review which includes reviewing background literature on understanding and application of the recovery process within NSSI. I explored research literature review through Psych Info, Google Scholar, and EBSCO. I hope to continue my development of the comprehensive literature review alongside my mentor Dr. Muehlenkamp.



IMG_7496_edited.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

My to learn more about Mary Obias continue to read here...

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page