top of page

Mind Over Matter

10/13/21


Within the past few years, I have contemplated the meaning of life and what my purpose encompasses.


Throughout my adolescent years and into my early adulthood life, I was encouraged to follow a path that I would be most passionate and enriched with knowledge to last a lifetime. In order to lead a fulfilled life I was taught to follow one's passion over the income. After much consideration, I decided to pursue a degree in Clinical/Counseling Psychology.


The desire to build connections and assist in potential solutions for those with great emotional turmoil has been a significant interest. The process of defining my purpose has been a turbulent ride. My pursuit of my career is largely due to the negative events and traumas in life. The acceptance of unavoidable tragedies triggers the compass within us to prevent something that has occurred within oneself, in hopes to prevent the same experiences to occur to others or perhaps to lessen the emotional disposition.


Me, Myself, and I


My acceptance into the Ronald E. McNair Post Baccalaureate Achievement Program and becoming a McNair scholar as well as becoming a Family Assessment Student Clinician with the Human Development Center at the University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire have created stepping stones to reach my goal and to develop my knowledge of the field of Psychology. This process of providing care to others has allowed me to develop a sense of self. I have created a research project that reflects such passions that coincide with the perseverance to get to where I am in the present day and the passion that I have to assist others.


I'm partnering with Dr. Jennifer Muehlenkamp in the exploration of non-suicidal self injury (NSSI) and suicide ideation factors that facilitate self-recovery across undergraduate students. With little research in the field, we find the importance of understanding protective and recovery factors for effective treatments and prevention. The simplistic control and use of the mind to persevere setbacks even when one is too tired reflects the question of mind over matter.


Erik Erikson

“Life doesn't make any sense without interdependence. We need each other, and the sooner we learn that, the better for us all.”


IMG_7496_edited.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

My to learn more about Mary Obias continue to read here...

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page